Loch Lomond–A Picture Post

The beauty of Loch Lomond is not the kind which uplifts and inspires the soul. Rather, it is the kind which quiets and soothes it. It does not lend itself to careless daydreaming but instead gives opportunity for reflection on its water’s glassy surface and provokes hunger for contemplation deep as the water’s rocky bottom. Although it is not a Disneyland, a Derbyshire, a Washington D.C.-type destination, where everything is clearly cool and meticulously manicured to remain so, the natural and imperfect beauty of the Loch has a sustenance which affects more deeply and lasts much longer than any tourist trap. And its rich yet humble landscape nourishes the soul, granting a peaceful repose for the receptive visitor viewing its bonnie, bonnie banks.

7 thoughts on “Loch Lomond–A Picture Post

    • No. The Loch Ness monster is at Loch Ness. I was at Loch Lomond. :-)

      At first, it’s slightly confusing because all the lakes are Loch _________, and all the “mountains” are Ben _________.

  1. Not sure if I’m doing this right, but had to try. Have you ever thought of becoming a travel guide? You could lead tours through England and Scotland, etc. Think about it Manda – you would be good!:D

  2. The way the light was coming towards you through the trees made for some really neat photos. I have to agree with Stacy – you would be really good at going on tours and then writing about them so that other people would be interested in taking the same tour.

    • Thanks James. Loch Lomond loved “The Places I Cannot Be.” I hope you don’t mind, but it was actually debuted in Derbyshire before it was played in Scotland. I felt that I needed to play it through a few times before I got to the Loch, so it would be ready to go when I did. Plus, I figured it would be pretty cool if you had a large audience for the debut. Granted, they were all sheep… but it was a full “house.” I just told them “And now, to finish off today’s musical enjoyment, you are all about hear a piece composed by my good friend and budding composer, James MacQueen. He wrote it to be played over the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, but I’m here today to treat you to an early premier. I hope you enjoy ‘The Places I Cannot Be.'” They didn’t say much, but I think they liked it! :-)

      • :)

        I have to admit I got worried for a second when you wrote that you first played it for the sheep, knowing their predilection for Mozart, which is rather different from what I write, but then I got to the end and was relieved. It’s always good to have a live audience though.

Leave a Reply

