Spring Chronicles, Part 4

Days 5-8: Loch Lomond, Scotland

First of all, I must apologize. I’ve been having a difficult time uploading photos on my laptop, so I’m going to have to try to work something different out for those.

My days spent at Loch Lomond were peaceful, beautiful, and pretty much indistinguishable from one another. I stayed at a lovely youth hostel located only yards away from the Loch, an eight mile hike in from the nearest town. Remote and quiet, each day went something like this:

7:30 Wake up, breakfast, and sunscreen up

8:30 Leave the hostel and go hiking. I hiked all over the area–the banks, the woods, and one day, I tackled Ben Lomond, a 974m high peak not far from where I was staying. I lucked out with awesome weather; the sun was out and the skies were clear, and being out was very enjoyable (again, this is where pictures would be helpful…). Setting out with my backpack, camera, and lunch, I was set for a day.

4:00 Return to the hostel, take my horn out for a practice on the banks, watch the sun set.

6:30 Dinner and cleaning up, then some leisure reading (I made it through the Sherlock Holmes adventures and started Steinbeck’s Travels with Charlie) and an early trip to bed (the hiking was cool, but pretty exhausting).

Derbyshire was beautiful, like something out of an Austen novel. But Loch Lomond had a depth to its beauty that Derbyshire lacked. It was a time of reflection and relaxation, and I look forward to being able to return in the future.

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

