Horn

So often, it seems that the things that have the most potential to bring us the most joy can also be things which also carry the most stress. In this case, it is my horn.

I’m a little apprehensive about traveling with it, as I am unsure whether the airline is going to let it in the plane’s cabin. It’s outside of the dimension limits for a carry on, which, according to airline policy, means it’s going to have to be checked. I get to carry it to the departure gate (so it won’t go through the chutes and such–that would be worse than a horror film), but in the end, it still goes with checked baggage. And they’ll charge me a nice fee for it, too. But, it’s an instrument, and not much bigger than it’s supposed to be, and I’m hoping that if I play my cards right I’ll be allowed to take it in the cabin. That’s the hope.

On the more positive note, I am so excited about another aspect of my horn: lessons. Pip Eastman, professor of horn for 10 years at the Royal College of Music, and for 15 years before that at the Royal Academy of Music, has agreed to take me on as a student during my time there. He has a blog on horn teaching which I really like, and so I decided to just contact him and see if he would be willing to teach me. After all, the worst he could do would be say “no.” It must have been my lucky day, because he said yes. Turns out, he’s also principal horn of the London Chamber Orchestra (THE music for the Royal Wedding, for those of you who are interested in that), too. I feel so blessed, and I’m really grateful for the opportunity I’m going to have. Just have to make sure my instrument makes it there in one piece…

Amanda

One thought on “Horn

Leave a Reply

